Does this look good on me?

 What's the Buzz NecklaceWhat’s the Buzz Necklace 

For decades, I’ve been hearing this question. Usually from a woman who is sort of squinting at me, tilting her head to one side, and bracing herself for the truth, because she knows- unfortunately- she’s gonna get it from me. Sometimes from good friends, sometimes from complete strangers outside the fitting room. Most often, of course, I hear it from women while they are trying on my jewelry. www.sueanneshirzay.etsy.com They all ask me. And I love answering.

I don’t know exactly why people ask ME, of all people, but they do. I guess it’s because I’ve always had my own style, and people must like it, or in some way connect with or trust it.  The way I put myself together has varied over the years, to put it mildly- who can forget the eighties- but still, people have always come to me for advice. Some call me or text me. Some drag me to the mall with them and feed me pie ( I prefer apple or cherry) and Lattes. Some contact me through Twitter DMs. Yes… I can tell you what to pack for a week in Paris in 140 characters or less. They know I have an opinion, I will give it quickly, decisively and constructively and… will offer up three or more other things that look better in a heartbeat if that one thing just doesn’t make the grade. Horror of all horrors- I will even tell them if nothing is working. 

White Out

White Out

 

Or maybe it’s because of my innate deep connection with color. This is something that’s so hard to put into words. It’s an emotion, it’s a relationship, it’s a love, it is my passion, it is who I am at the very core. I see color, I breathe it, it makes me happy, it creates a mood, it defines how we look  and how we see the world. I’m not afraid to wear it, and I know it likes being worn by me. It TOLD me, okay? 

My hope for this blog is that I will be able to share my colorful jewelry pieces with a few little tidbits of wardrobe and accessory advice thrown in for fun. Will it be like the newest edition of Vogue? Oh, Hell, no, I don’t follow trends so much. I go with what looks good on the individual women, not what the press dictates.  I prefer personalized, individual style any day over contrived trends.  

I’d like to give a special thank you to my Mother, who not only paid for my subscription to W when I was 15, but allowed me to tape its poster-sized pages all over my bedroom walls-with scotch tape no less, and to Ayrton D’Silva, who gave me a much needed shove to create this blog and designed it for me. He can be contacted at ayrtondsilva

Let’s have some fun. If you’d like any specific questions answered on this blog, please email sueanneshirzay3@gmail.com.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Explore posts in the same categories: Look good!

6 Comments on “Does this look good on me?”


  1. Congrats on new blog – can’t wait to read ur advice. U know I’m a fan of ur jewelry – oh yeah. I’m no fashion plate…more like a fashion tupperware. sigh.


  2. Thank you Honey! Stick with me kid. I’ll teach you how to use your Tupperware lid as a frisbee.

  3. Drfyne Says:

    Big congrats on your new blog from one who has received advice on what to pack for one week in France in 140 characters or less! And don’t even get me started on your jewelry; my 17 yo says she “likes my new jewelry obsession”!!!I know you are going to have lots of fun!

    • sueanneshirzay Says:

      *Giggle*, thanks Meg. Obviously your 17 yo old is a highly intelligent child with exceptional taste, just like her mother. : )

  4. Laura Sanchez Says:

    Sueanne,
    Ilove your taste in jewerly! Your creativity is exquisite.That would explain why I’m a repeat customer! Awesome service you provide!

    xoxo

    Laura 🙂

    • sueanneshirzay Says:

      Awww, Laura, thank you so much! I absolutely adore working with you and am so happy to be your friend and Advisor. MWAH!


Leave a Reply

