Plaid Shirts are for Suckers

Step Away From the Plaid

 

The Bella Necklace, one of my bestsellers

 

A number of people, men and women alike, have asked me about the obnoxious tendency “the fashion world” has towards pushing plaid shirts upon women as the “latest trend” every 4.5 years. It happened again this Fall. As I am part Scottish, you would think plaid would be my best friend.

Eh, Not when it comes to shirts, ladies.

Ask yourself these important questions. Do you hunt moose? Do you drink a lot of beer? Do you want to look like a guy who chops wood for a living? So, in essence, if you do not want to look like a beer-guzzling, wood-chopping, moose-hunting …dude… then avoid the plaid shirts. If it sounds like I’m yelling…it’s because I am. 

Soho Blazer

 

That being said, I happen to like plaid scarves and jackets. That’s different. Here’s a really cute jacket from Boden. The rule of thumb is they need to be short and fitted to look current. Yes, they are not especially figure-flattering, but quite frankly if it’s a cute jacket, who cares if you look two pounds heavier? Cute jackets are hot, hot, hot. I do have several in my closet and I just can’t get enough. This one is on sale right now as it’s the end of the season, so if you like it, grab it. They don’t have my size anymore, it sold out early and I missed the boat. Click on the picture to get the the website. And yes, it will still be in style for the next few years, it’s pretty classic. 

Go out and have some fun with plaid, just put away the shotgun and Schlitz. And please forward any and all style questions to sueanneshirzay3@gmail.com

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Explore posts in the same categories: Style File

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Plaid Shirts are for Suckers”

  1. Judith Cane Says:

    Just so you know, I’m wearing black/white/red plaid shoes with black patent toes and heel. I have one plaid shirt lined with flannel from Eddie Bauer which I only wear to our place in the woods and there will never, ever be a picture of me in it anywhere, ever.
    I’m just sayin’
    But I do love my new shoes. Peace. Out. Eh.

  2. acupofbren Says:

    I found your blog while just surfing around wordpress, and I’m so glad I did! I love your jewelry and your style and I’ve been having such a great time looking back through your old entries. I’ve been trying to make plaid work for me, but unfortunately, I just don’t think I have the right look for it. I will definitely check out your etsy shop! Come check me out if you get a chance. 🙂


Leave a Reply

