Why we love “Sex”

 

May 27th. And put on a slip. Gawd.

 

As I walked by this twelve story painted advertisement on Park Avenue in Manhattan yesterday a few thoughts occurred to me. What did I drink before Sex and the City with it’s frothy cosmopolitans existed? Wait a minute. Did I even …drink ? Did I ask myself random questions about love, life, men? Did I even think I didn’t…already know everything? Did I go to diners and cackle about random crap with my girlfriends? Did I even …eat? Was my closet a huge billowing mass of fashionista heaven? Did I even…shop?

Sex and the City 2, the movie, is coming out in a few days. 

I love Sex and the City and here’s why.

It’s well written. Whaaaat? you say? It’s not about the shoes? The sex? The hot men? How boring.

No, darlings. It’s not about the shoes, or the fashion. Or even the actual sex. Although all of that has been “good for me”. Those aspects of the series and movie are interesting in an over-the-top kind of way, but for me the allure of the show has always been the way the characters have been shaped and the hilarious things they say. I am a combination of all of those crazy women rolled into one. I think we all are. And I’m a sucker for one liners. 

Here are a few of my favorites. I could pick out fifty. But I won’t be drinking that much coffee today. Nobody should: 

 “I will never be the woman with the perfect hair, who can wear white and not spill on it.”

“I’m thinking balls are to men what purses are to women. It’s just a little bag, but we feel naked in public without it.”

“When Charlotte really liked somebody she said their whole name. It helped her picture their future monogrammed towels.

 “Oh my God, she’s fashion road-kill!”

Are we simply romantically challenged, or are we sluts?”

Haven’t we all thought these things at some time or another? 

The reality is there are so many poorly written TV show and movies out there that when one comes along that actually has good writing, I’m all over it. Writers don’t get enough credit for the work they do, it’s always the actors.

No, I won’t see it the first night it comes out. I’m not that kind of an addict. Lines and crowded theaters don’t appeal to me. But I will definitely see it within the first week.

If I don’t everybody will tell me the whole story and ruin it for me. When we’re at the diner, eating heart attacks on a plate. And downing cosmos at 12:01.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Explore posts in the same categories: Look good!

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Why we love “Sex””


  1. I believe I am the only person in the world who never watched one episode of Sex & the City. Movie? Nope not gonna see it either – wouldn’t understand it. I also skipped all 68,000 episodes of “24”. I’m funny that way. Maybe one day I’ll hit S&TC on hulu.com and decide to return to the world. Until them I have you to keep me informed!! lol xo


Leave a Reply

