Don’t Just Stand There. Do Nothing.

 

I heart Long Island

 

Summer is finally here. Happens to be my favorite time of the year as I live in a beach town that’s especially fun 3 months a year. I relish runs and walks on the beach, I try to set aside an hour or two every day in the summer where I do absolutely nothing but relax and Chill The Hell Out. I said TRY. If you are the type of person who always seems to be doing twenty things at once, doing absolutely nothing is actually somewhat of an accomplishment for us, something to be proud of . Try doing nothing. You deserve it. 

How cool is this oven? I mean, really?

 

Speaking of people who do twenty things at once. I’d like you to meet the coolest oven I’ve ever seen, owned by my even cooler friend Andrea. Andrea always makes me smile, and always has lots of things cookin. This is a beautiful green 1942 Chambers stove. Sometimes style is not just about what you wear or how you behave. It’s also about what you make your Monday Meatloaf in, baby, and this is the most stylin’ oven I’ve ever seen. Andrea works with lawyers all day, so I always assume she needs to boil things more than most people. Hee Hee. 

Mmmm. Nacos.

 

Do you like to cook much in the summer? I tend to go out a little more, but when I do cook, I’m looking for festive food with a little “oomph”. Meet the gorgeous Ciao Florentina, whose motto is “Peace Love and Food,” and who has the most fantastic food website in existence. Here is a fun little recipe I dragged off her website. I also am featured in the blog section of the site. 

Tacos & Nachos = NACOS
(serves 4+)               1 1/2 lb organic ground beef ( Rocky Mountain Organic Meats )
2 Tbs ev olive oil
1 med onion-diced
4 garlic cloves-minced
1/2 red bell pepper-diced (optional )
2 tbs dried oregano
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbs smoked paprika
2 tbs chilli powder
1 tsp red pepper flakes
2 tbs ground cumin
2 tbs tomato paste
15 oz can fire roasted tomatoes -crushed
1/2 tsp black pepper + more to taste
1 1/2 tsp sea salt + more to taste
3/4 c water
1/4 c chopped flat leaf italian parsley      

1 bag Tostitos Scoops
3 c grated sharp cheddar cheese
1c Guacamole
1c Sour Cream
1c Tomatoes -diced

1. IN a large cast iron pot heat up the olive oil and saute the onions with a pinch of sea salt for 5 min. Add the peppers and saute for another 5 min until they start to soften and the onions are translucent.

2. Add the ground beef to the pan and break it up with a flat end wooden spoon. Sear together until no longer pink.

3. Add all of the above seasonings to the pan then mix in the tomato paste, crushed tomatoes and the water. Partially cover with a lid and bring to a simmer.

4. Allow everything to simmer together on very low heat for 45 minutes stirring every 15 min. We want to concentrate the flavor but also we want some reduction.

5. After 45 minutes mix in the parsley and let simmer for another 2 min. Adjust seasoning and remove from heat.
( refrigerate overnight for best flavor )

1. Arrange the Tostitos Scoops on a baking sheet, sprinkle some of the cheese inside each scoop, top with some of the ground beef and sprinkle with more cheese. Bake at 350″ F for 3 minutes or until the cheese is gooey & melted.
Transfer them to a platter and dress them up with a dab of guacamole, sour cream and diced tomatoes. Sprinkle with the shredded lettuce and serve.

Tags: Nacos, Organic, Recipes, Tacos, Tostitos, More…TostitosScoops, nachos
Albums: Salads & Appetizers

Mermaid Pendant with Starfish

 

Meet Kim, of Mermaid Charms, another beachside jewelry designer. She’s in California, near a beach that actually has beach glass wash right up on the shore. How cool is THAT? The only kind of beach glass I get on my beach is discarded Amstel Light bottles, so I think she’s really lucky and I’m completely jealous. Here’s a beautiful sea inspired piece that happens to be  a mermaid. 

Sit back, put your feet up! Enjoy the beginning of Summer, and of course, if you have a chance, shop for jewelry to go with all of your slinky summer outfits. 

Explore posts in the same categories: COOL STUFF, Style File

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Don’t Just Stand There. Do Nothing.”


  1. That looks like an awesome recipe! I love the beach too, I wish I lived on one! 🙂

  2. Janice Says:

    The Mermaid pendant mentioned above – I bought it for my beautiful redhead daughter. The picture doesn’t do it justice. Love the articles … now I’m hungry for nachos at 8 am, thanks woman. Off to open my jar of jalapeños. 😀

  3. Corey Says:

    i always smile when i see your posts in my inbox… although now i want a taco…. 🙂 NOM NOM

  4. MerCurios Says:

    That recipe is one I’m definitely trying! We eat fresh tacos A LOT in the summer months…the winter too. This one seems so quick and easy! Of course it doesn’t call for salsa as a topping, so that may be one modification I make. Mango, pineapple or peach salsa – yummy!

    That stove is HOT too!

    xo,
    MJ


Leave a Reply

