What to do…when it looks TOO good on you.

The media is all over this New York Jets and Ines Sainz locker room controversy. 

Although I have  covered the topic, so to speak, in my own way during National Trollop Prevention month in August, and in several cleavage related posts, it is no surprise to me that now that it’s September, Ines didn’t get the memo.  I’ll rinse, repeat, and just put in my two cents. Eyeroll. Is my work never done? 

Seems that Ines, who is a drop dead gorgeous Mexican reporter, had a little trouble in the Jets Locker room. She tweeted something to the effect that she was embarrassed or uncomfortable, as rude comments were made to her by the players.  Seems the Jets players behaved like they had never seen a gorgeous woman wearing skin-tight jeans and a revealing top. In other words, they behaved like little boys pretending to be men.

Ines didn’t really complain about it, but her colleague did. The press went wild. Even Sam Champion is tweeting about this. 

There are two sides to this story. First, should women expect to be treated professionally if dressed like sluts even while working? Assume they are not standing on a streetcorner. Should men be expected to act like gentlemen when they are at their workplace and everywhere else regardless to what their female colleagues are wearing? 

My answer may surprise you.

Here’s the thing. Ines has her own style. And that style is slutty. She’s known for it, the players know about it and guess what?  It works for her. Ines was just doing her job and they should respect that. Since she’s been doing that job for nine years, my guess is that she’s probably good at it. 

There is no thin line between sexy and slutty. It’s a big huge mile wide line and Ines chooses to cross it daily. Does she look bad? Nope. She looks hot. Is this a good look for a reporter who wants to be respected? Maybe not. Would I advise people to dress like that? No, not really, but this may be an exception as she has made it her trademark. Frankly, with a few modifications, she’d probably look even better.

That being said, have we forgotten Charo? Some things just work. 

Men need to realize that the workplace is not their local strip club and treat women with respect. 

What do you think? What would you do… if it looked too good on you?

Explore posts in the same categories: Look good!, Style File

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “What to do…when it looks TOO good on you.”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Well said! I agree completely, I say if you can rock a sexy look, rock it! If you want to dress slutty, go for it! But don’t complain when you get the attention you are asking for by dressing that way.
    Now – I’m not telling my daughters that.
    I’m telling my daughters: “Nice girls wear cowl neck sweaters.”
    But everyone else should go for it!

  2. Florentina Says:

    I completely agree! The Jets were at work, not just playing a game at the park ,so they really need to keep that in mind. Act like a Man not a teenage boy in the locker room after practice.

  3. hornblower Says:

    No way in hell she need to be dressing that way going into men’s locker rooms, shes does it for attention and the media gave her what she wanted….expect a playboy spread in the near future


  4. I had to Google her to learn who she is. I just read in USA Today read that she has retracted her story. I can’t verify the accuracy of this.

    I think that there’s no place for harassment either in the workplace or outside of it from either men or women. I think Sueanne could probably provide some good fashion counsel to Ines. That being said, let me add that I live in South Beach, Florida.

    There are probably 5,000 women within a 5 mile radius of me that are as outwardly beautiful. And probably know as much about sports. ~Mike


  5. I just saw some more pictures of Ines. I take it back. 500 women.


  6. I am with ya on this one and I had to say I was quite disappointed in my Sam this morning with his comment. He lost major Sam points with what he tweeted. He as much as said she deserved what she got and NOTHING makes me madder than that misogynist attitude which simply refuses to go away. You might as well say a woman deserves to be raped because she wore suggestive attire. Flippin’ caveman attitude. If she showed up in the locker room stark naked I would have expected a comment or three, but she was clothed (albeit not my idea of professionally) and should have been treated with respect. I rest my rant.


Leave a Reply

