Ashes to Ashes, Bust about to Bust: Oscar Fashion.

It’s official.

I love watching the Oscars Red Carpet more than the actual broadcast.

This year I chose to watch the E! Network coverage from the comfort of my beachside East Coast couch complete with pink champagne and for some reason, hummus. Hey, that’s just what I felt like eating. Don’t judge.

Before I was treated to the spectacular parade of gowns I was forced to endure what seemed to be an unusually long and detailed camera shot of P. Diddy being meticulously lint rolled by his valet. Did I really need to see that? No. No, I did not.

I don’t waste time talking about who was badly dressed, so let’s just skip right ahead to the good stuff. As usual, there were too many beautiful creations to list, and I don’t necessarily agree with what the experts say were the best gowns. I like different, unique, unpredictable. Most importantly, I like to pick the gowns that really seem to suit the person wearing them, fit well and are gorgeous.

Missi Pyle in Valentina Delfino

“The Artist” star Missi Pyle made her delicious green literally and figuratively eco-friendly fashion mark in the official Red Carpet Green contest-winning dress. It was designed by Valentina Delfino, and was made of recycled polyester and silk from cruelty-free silkworms. She’s 5’11” barefoot, but this dress suits her so well you would never really know it from viewing pictures.(Jason Merritt, Getty Images)

Judy Greer

Judy Greer’s insanely gorgeous liquid metal Monique Lhuillier gown also suited her perfectly. What redhead wouldn’t look super sexy in this slinky curvy silhouette, complete with art deco diamonds and a metallic clutch. I’m just a sucker for Art Deco and that less is more look. (Harper’s Bazaar, Brasil)

Oh. About the “bust about to bust”. Can someone please explain to me why a mega-star like Jennifer Lopez was unable to find a dress that wasn’t a nip-slip waiting to happen. Some are saying it did. For heaven’s sake, USE THE TAPE. Dress tape. Use more of it, use it correctly, or hey… here’s an idea, just get a dress that fits. I throw up my hands on this one.

Stacy Kiebler in Marchesa

Last but not least, George Clooney’s main squeeze, Stacy Keibler looked absolutely spectacular in a shimmery, flatteringly form-fitting, draped, off-the-shoulder Marchesa gown. Standing ovation, Miss Kiebler! That was my favorite gown of the night. (Steve Granitz, WireImage / Getty Images)

Shall I digress and talk about Sacha Baron Cohen’s ash throwing shenanigans? I think my tweet sums it up just fine. Ryan Seacrest certainly held his composure. I would have thrown that urn and Mr. Cohen into the closest third world country I could find.

Who was your favorite? What did you think of the drama that unfolded before the show?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Explore posts in the same categories: jewelry, Look good!, Style File

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment